.

 

Summer Summary

Written on 2005-08-29 at 4:28 p.m.

Ugh, I have started an unexpected bleed, and it's the last week of my summer holidays. On Monday next week I return for a busy inset day after six weeks of rest. I have to admit that having summer holiday again has been surreal. At the last year of my HND I remember thinking how upsetting it was that I would never again have a long summer holiday, as though I couldn't quite let go of the highlight of every childhood year. Now here I am, years later, working at a school and enjoying the perks of extended holidays.

It has been a very surreal summer. There have been some very bizarre days:

I have put together more flat-packed furniture than you'd find at a branch of Argos.

I have insulted a grand total of three charity clip-board fiends.

I have had two new tattoos.

I have been to the strangest, most bizarre party in the world.

I snogged a gorgeous tattooist *grin*

I have had the run of an empty school on two occasions (even though it was a bit like the crystal maze)

I have started writing again.

I have been mobbed by ducks.

I have watched a fireman deciding to use a non-regulation hose against the wall of Woolwarths (Ugh!)

I have been sending my beautiful LDG pictures of Digletts to corrupt her ;D

I have learned how to put up curtains.

I had a wonderful, wild and hilarious afternoon with my oldest friend :)

We have done up the flat.

We have learnt that not all rubber ducks float.

We have welcomed our first guests to the flat.

And I have had a wonderful five weeks :)

One week to go, which appears to be a week stuck in bed (still, I'd rather it happens now than my first day back at school.) It fees like the time has gone quite quickly, and yet at the same time I feel as though I've been at home forever.

It certainly never used to feel like that when I was a pupil!

What's On: Soccer Special

I'm Feeling Ill!

Quote of the Moment: "Somebody please, stop the Diglett!"

<< Backwards / Forwards >>